I’ve been working on my Sourdough, all the live-long day!


No, my name’s not Dinah and there’s no one else in my kitchen ๐Ÿ™‚

However, I have been tending to my sourdough starter daily, trying to achieve that characteristic tangy taste. I started this starter from scratch only about two weeks ago (I’ve read of some that have been in existence for 150 years or more!). Each day, I remove a couple of cups of batter and replace it with fresh water and flour. In the beginning, it mostly smelled yeasty, but now it’s getting a bit sourer daily. I’ve also increased the volume and hence had to move it to a larger container since the old one kept bubbling over.
P1070227

So, what to do with the cast-off batter? How about a nice stack of pancakes which I made following this recipe:

P1070223

The two cups of batter made 10 pancakes. So light and fluffy and very tasty ๐Ÿ™‚

Now that the starter is developing some flavor, I decided to make some more bread. This time, utilizing two different styles of recipe. The first recipe, called Sourdough Bread III from All Recipes, used quite a lot of starter (1-1/2 cups) plus normal yeast and yielded a quite nice looking boule.

P1070225

It had a firm texture which sliced very well and will surely be a part of some yummy sandwiches soon:
P1070228

The second recipe, Sourdough Bread I from the same site, used only 1 cup of starter and no yeast. It also took a very long time to rise/proof – about 4 hours for the first rise, then I formed a nice looking batard and left it to rise overnight. When it came from the oven this morning, my wife kidded that it looked like I was cheating and had gone out and purchased this one!
P1070226

She was right, this is the best sourdough bread I’ve ever made and one of the best I’ve ever tasted ๐Ÿ™‚

2 thoughts on “I’ve been working on my Sourdough, all the live-long day!

    • It’s easy, the recipe is in my other post. When made this way, you do have to take care of it daily, at least until it sours properly (mine is just getting there now). Just remove around 1/2 of the batter each day and replace with fresh flour and water. Stir it in and sit back.

      As long as you are feeding it, it can stay on the counter at room temperature. That may be why mine is a bit slow to sour as I keep my house rather cool in the winter. I read where the optimum temperature for the starter is 81F (27C).

      Give it a try – all you have to lose is a little flour and a few minutes a day. Let me know (here) how it goes.

      Note: the bread I finished today has outstanding flavor – just the right “bite” and texture, so it’s definitely worth it.

Comments are closed.